Homewood School Local Governing Body

The Homewood School Local Governing Body consists of nine governors; a mix of staff, parents and members of the community.

They follow the circle model of governance and this means all governors are aware of the educational, legal, financial and strategic directives relating to all schools within the Tenterden Schools Trust (TST) but more particularly those concerning Homewood School.

The Principal and Leadership Team of the school prepare an annual School Development Plan identifying ongoing and specific targets and from that the governors put in place a development plan of their own linking in to the key issues. This will indicate which areas should be more closely monitored by them for that year, along with the continued link governor visits that are undertaken for Safeguarding, Pupil Premium, SEND, Children in Care and Attendance. All the while the main and continued focus is on the best outcomes for the students at Homewood School.

They work with local governors from the other schools within the TST and will regularly join with not only them but the Directors of the Trust Board for training events to keep abreast of new regulations and directives from the DfE and Ofsted and to ensure best practice in governance.

As well as these formal duties all governors are welcomed into the school for celebration and exhibition events and report that they find these a most uplifting experience and they help them to understand why they became governors in the first place.

Membership of the Governing Body 2018/2019 is as follows:

NameType of GovernorLink Governor

End of term of office


Mr Timothy BartonParentSENSept 2019
Mr Jonathan CapstickParentParent CommunicationDec 2021
Mrs Gillian Guthrie – ChairCommunitySafeguarding / Pupil PremiumSept 2019
Mrs Louise JenningsParentStudent & Staff Well beingDec 2021
Mrs Sally Lees

Head Teacher

All – Principal 
Mrs Sue MashPartnershipChildren in CareOct 2019
Ms Shabana RamanStaffAssessmentOct 2021
Mrs Jane Ross-SmithStaffSixth Form & I-College & CIAEGSept 2019
Ms Kate SmithParentAssessment / AttendanceSept 2019
To contact the Chair of Governors, please email Mrs Karen Douglas – Clerk to the Governors. k.douglas@homewood.kent.sch.uk



Governor NameTerm of Office and Appointing BodyAttendance at LGB meetings 2017/18Declaration of Business InterestsAny other educational establishments governedRelationship with Trust staff, including spouse, partners or relatives.Date decl. signed
Timothy Barton01/9/15 – 31/08/19
Parent election
5 of 7None to be declaredNoneNone06/09/17
Jonathan Capstick01/12/17 – 31/11/21
Parent election
3 of 5None to be declaredNoneNone18/12/17
Gillian Guthrie01/09/15 – 31/08/19
Governing Board
5 of 7None to be declaredNoneNone06/09/17
Louise Jennings01/12/17 – 31/11/21
Parent election
4 of 5None to be declaredNoneNone18/12/17
Sally Lees
Ex-Officio7 of 7None to be declaredCEO of Tenterden Schools TrustNone06/09/17
Sue Mash1/10/15 – 31/09/19
Governing Board
5 of 7None to be declaredNoneNone06/09/17
Shabana Raman01/10/17 – 31/09/19
Teaching staff
5 of 6None to be declaredNoneNone30/10/17
Jane Ross-Smith

01/09/15 – 31/08/19

Non-teaching staff

7 of 7None to be declaredNoneNone06/09/17

Kate Smith


01/09/15 – 31/08/19
Parent election
6 of 7None to be declaredDirector on Tenterden Schools Trust BoardNone06/09/17